Sponsored by

Announcing the shortlist for The Australian Fraud Awards 2018!

We have received an impressive number of entries for the inaugural Australian Fraud Awards 2018.

The standard of entries has been extremely high, and competition fierce. However, after careful consideration the international panel of judges has drawn up a list of finalists, with winners and runners-up being announced at the Australian Fraud Awards Gala Dinner on 30th August at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Walsh Bay, Sydney. This event will follow Retail Risk – Sydney 2018 and will celebrate the very best individual and team performances, innovative new products, winning industry strategies and of course crown the “Loss Prevention Director of The Year.” The Awards Dinner promises to be an outstanding industry evening and superb networking opportunity.

Our thanks go to the judges for their collective wisdom and efforts in reaching consensus to achieve this impressive shortlist. See our judges panel here…

Celebrate your success at the Fraud Awards Gala Dinner

On August 30th in Sydney the winners will be revealed at the Fraud Awards Gala Dinner Evening. There, guests enjoy a champagne reception followed by an outstanding three course meal with champagne and fine wines before the Awards themselves get underway.

The organisers are keen, even in the first year, to put on a show with visually exciting staging and a professional host. The night is invariably full of drama and excitement as Awards are received, speeches made and photographs taken. After the winners have been announced there is further time to enjoy the company of fellow professionals either over a glass of wine or on the dancefloor with our live DJ playing great music until early morning hours.

For further information contact us by clicking here. To enquire about sponsorship opportunities please call +61 (0) 2 8310 5744.


This award recognises the most exciting new vendor or solution to enter the retail risk and loss prevention arena, supplying any part of the risk and loss prevention industry. To qualify the solution or company must have launched within the last two years.

The shortlist

STplus1 – Retailers Advantage

The SlideTag – Sekura Global

Whispli – Whispli

Crime Intelligence Platform – Auror


Here judges are looking for innovative approaches to an existing, tried and tested solution or genre. The solution can either be from a vendor, or be an in-house retailer solution.

The shortlist

Concept Tag – Jacloc

STPLUS1 – Retailers Advantage

The Sensormatic Synergy Storefront Series – Tyco Retail Solutions

Prescriptive Analytics Software – Profitect

The Sekura BoxGrip SR – Sekura Global

“One Box” Retail Solution – ONVU Retail Solutions


Here judges are looking for innovative approaches to an existing, tried and tested solution or genre. The solution can either be from a vendor, or be an in-house retailer solution.

The shortlist

UP Payments Risk Management Solution – ACI Worldwide

A Multi-Layered Solution to Fight Fraud – Ethoca

The DetectR Innovation – NetMap Analytics


The judges will be looking for a vendor who consistently goes over and above the role of ‘just’ being a supplier, vendor of the year will acknowledge those vendors who form tangible and lasting partnerships with their retail clients.

The shortlist


ACI Worldwide

Fortis Security

Tyco Retail Solutions




At one end of the spectrum we have Crime Partnerships, through to Commercial Data Sharing Partnerships and even Partnerships with local Police forces. At the other, a few neighbourhood retailers working together to combat crime. What the judges are looking for here is real, tangible business benefits resulting from genuine collaboration along with a clear ROI, tangible business benefits and an invaluable service. This category is open for both retailers and vendors to enter.

The shortlist

Auror – Auror

Coles, VicPol and Auror Disrupt ORC

A Multi-Layered Solution to Fight Fraud – Ethoca


The purpose of this Awards category is to encourage gender parity and female advancement.

The judges are looking for women working in Risk Management as a retailer, vendor, law enforcement officer or academic, who has achieved their success against all odds. These female trailblazers have broken glass ceilings, worked hard to remove barriers for other women and are disrupting established industry norms through innovation.

The shortlist

Veronica Denner – APG & Co

Tara Connolly – The Just Group

Elisa Browning – Cotton on Group

Carly Richards – KPMG

Melissa Jardine – Centre for Law Enforcement & Public Health


The judges are looking to recognise the success of an outstanding individual who has made a positive contribution to the bottom line performance and overall loss prevention landscape within their place of work, this winner does not need to be work full time in risk management, but could be a from another discipline but who really ‘gets’ risk and as such has made a significant difference, either financially or culturally within their place of work. This category is open for both retailers and vendors to enter.

The shortlist

Veronica Denner – APG & Co

Nathan Hambrook – Afterpay

Jorden McMah – Cotton on Group

Luana Toka – The Just Group


Often the unsung heroes of the Profit Protection Team, the judges are looking to recognise outstanding Regional or Divisional Heads who provide both their stores with genuine support and guidance in the fight against retail risk, fraud and loss prevention, but who also get the bigger companywide aims and objectives and as such bring genuine value and benefit to their company and wider network.

The shortlist

Veronica Denner – APG & Co

Deborah Myers – Next Athleisure

Robbie Conway – Strandbags Group

Douglas Pobjoy – Forever New Clothing

Miguel Salveron – Burberry


Formerly LP Team of the year but rebranded to reflect the dynamic nature of our industry, this Award recognises the Profit Protection team that undertook that difficult technology role out that was delivered in record time, or that enthused a whole company to ‘think shrink’. This Award is a real pat on the back for whole team – the name says it all.

The shortlist

Next Athleisure, JD Sports Fashion Australia & Glue Stores

Cotton On Group

Target Retail Loss Team


Each year the judges will induct one person into the Retail Risk ‘Hall of Fame’ – this person will be someone whom the judges feel has contributed above and beyond to the cause of retail fraud, risk and loss prevention.

This award will be announced on the night of the Awards.


The judges are looking for outstanding contribution from one individual. That could be in the face of difficult trading conditions, or the implementing of challenging new strategies and technologies. The winner of this prestigious award will be recognised by his or her peers as being at the pinnacle of modern retail risk and loss prevention and a leader in their field.

The shortlist

Mark Boyd – Next Athleisure

Marc Sirianni – Accent Group

Mark Ramsey – Target Australia

Cameron Newell – Coles